The next European Commission: What we know so far

The next European Commission is taking shape.

The current EU executive remains in office until the end of October but some governments have already announced their candidates for the next five-year term.

That doesnt mean all of those nominees will end up at the Commissions Berlaymont headquarters in Brussels. Every nominee will need the approval of the Commissions new president and the European Parliament to take office.

Ursula von der Leyen, the European Councils nominee for Commission president, herself still needs to be confirmed by the European Parliament.

But the announcements so far give a good indication of whos staying, whos joining and whos leaving.

Heres what we know so far:


Valdis Dombrovskis, Latvia, European Peoples Party (EPP)
Current role: The European Commissions vice president for the euro and social dialogue
Expected role in the new Commission: Latvia is hoping to get a portfolio connected to finance and the economy, according to one official.

Mariya Gabriel, Bulgaria, EPP
Current role: European commissioner for digital economy and society
Expected role in the new Commission:
Bulgarian Prime Minister Boyko Borissov has said that he turned down the post of high representative for foreign policy for his country and wants a “a commissioner with a real portfolio.” He also said he would be keen to keep the digital portfolio for Bulgaria.

Phil Hogan, Ireland, EPP
Current role:
European commissioner for agriculture
Expected role in the new Commission:
Hogan could stay on as agriculture commissioner, but his name has also been floated as a possible trade commissioner.

Maroš Šefčovič, Slovakia, Party of European Socialists (PES)
Current role: European Commission vice president in charge of the energy union
Expected role in the new Commission: Slovakia is hoping to get a vice president role with a “strong portfolio,” according to one official.

Frans Timmermans, Netherlands, PES
Current role: European Commission first vice president
Expected role in the new Commission: While Timmermans party is not in power in his home country, the Netherlands is nevertheless expected to nominate him. He is likely to take the position of first vice president in the new Commission.

Margrethe Vestager, Denmark, Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE)
Current role: European commissioner for competition
Expected role in the new Commission: Vestager is also expected to take a senior post in the new Commission, under a deal agreed by the European Council of EU leaders.


Josep Borrell, Spain, PES
Current role: Spains minister for foreign affairs
Expected role in the new Commission: The Council has nominated Borrell as the next EU high representative overseeing foreign affairs and security policy.

Nicolas Schmit, Luxembourg, PES
Current role: Member of the European Parliament and former minister for labor, employment, and social economy. Luxembourgs government is set to nominate Schmit as part of a coalition deal.
Expected role in the new Commission: Schmit has expressed interest in a social policy portfolio.

Kadri Simson, Estonia, ALDE
Current role: Simson served as Estonias minister of economic affairs from 2016 until 2019.
Expected role in the new Commission: Its not certain what role Simson could receive, but in a letter to the Council, Prime Minister Jüri Ratas highlighted her expertise in energy, transport and the internal market.

László Trócsányi, Hungary, EPP
Current role: Trócsányi served as Hungarys justice minister from 2014 until 2019 and is now a member of the European Parliament.
Expected role in the new Commission: “I certainly have some preferences in this matter but I think its too early to talk about them yet,” Trócsányi said in response to a question from POLITICO. According to one senior Fidesz official, Trócsányi is interested in the enlargement portfolio.

Jutta Urpilainen, Finland, PES
Current role: A member of Finlands parliament, Urpilainen served as the countrys finance minister from 2011 until 2014.
Expected role in the new Commission: While it remains unclear what position Finland would get, Urpilainens experience could lead to a finance-oriented portfolio.

Ursula von der Leyen, Germany, EPP
Current role: German defense minister
Expected role in the new Commission: The Council nominated von der Leyen to become the next president of the European Commission.


Johannes Hahn, Austria, EPP
Current role: European commissioner for neighborhood policy and enlargement
Its possible that Austria will nominate Hahn for another term. As the country is currently being governed by a technocratic interim Cabinet, the major parties in the Austrian parliament will have to agree on a candidate. The far-right Freedom Partys leader Norbert Hofer, for one, has said he can “imagine” Hahn staying at the Commission.

Věra Jourová, Czech Republic, ALDE
Current role: European commissioner for justice, consumers and gender equality
Jourová is hoping to stay at the Berlaymont, but much depends on a brewing domestic political crisis in Prague.

Pedro Marques, Portugal, PES
CuRead More – Source